Historical::Administrative Arrangements in the Eastern

December 30, 2006 at 7:27 am Leave a comment

Historical::Administrative Arrangements in the Eastern

Tarai Region and Chitaun 

      During the early nineteenth century, the eastern Tarai region was divided into several administrative units: Morang, Saptari, Mahottari, Bara, Parsa, Rautahat and Sarlahi. Occasionally, Saptari and Mahottari were placed under a single administrator. Bara, Parsa, Rautahat and Sarlahi were also treated similarly from time to time. (Cf. ”Order Regarding Extradition of Dacoits,” Shrawan Badi 10, 1892 (July 1835), Regmi Research Collection, vol. 45, pp. 126-28. According the this order there were only three administrators (amali) in the eastern Tarai region at that time, for (1) Morang, (2) Saptari and Mahottari, and (3) Bara, Parsa, Rautahat and Sarlahi). 

      According to Francis Hamilton (An account of the Kingdom of Nepal, p. 151); ”Morang, in the general sense, extends in the low country from the Tista to the Kosi.” The Tista frontier was brought westward toward the Mechi river after the Nepal-British war. Morang during the nineteenth century comprised five modern administrative districts in the region: Jhapa, Morang and Sunsari. The administrative headquarters of the districts were located at Vijayapur, a hill town on the Churia range, which was the capital of the Sen dynasty before the territory was incorporated into the Gorkhali Kingdom. 

      Saptari and Mahottari had once belonged to another branch of the Sen dynasty based at Chaudandi in the hills. These districts were situated west of the Kosi river and extended up to the Bagmati river in the east, a distance of about 100 miles. the administrative headquarters were located at a place called Naragarhi, which Hamilton has described as ”a small fort on the plain.” (Ibid, pp. 160-61). 

      Bara, Parsa and Rautahat and belonged to yet another branch of the Sen dynasty based at  Makwanpur. The headquarters of this division were located at Makwanpur, ”but in the cold season, (the Subba) visits the plains and resides at Baragarhi”. (Ibid, p. 167). Kirkpatrict has described Baragarhi as ”a mean place, containing 30 or 40 huts,” (An Account of the Kingdom of Nepaul, p. 40). 

      The district of Sarlahi seems to have been created some time during the 1830s. Hamilton has made no reference to this district in his account of the eastern Tarai region, (Hamilton, op. cit. pp. 160-64). 

      The inner Tarai district of Chitaun, which once formed a part of the Primapality of Tanahu in the western hill region, was similarly a separate administrative unit. 

      After the emergence of Rana rule in 1846, these districts were reorganized into seven administrative units: Morang, Saptari, Mahottari, Sarlahi, Rautahat, Bara and Parsa. Chitaun retained its status as a separate administrative unit. (”Revenue and Expenditure of the Government of Nepal,” 1908 (A.D. 1851), Regmi Research Collection (Miscellaneos).



Entry filed under: Articles.

Open your eyes िफर से कह दो एक बार इन्िकलाब

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Celebration of 1,00,000

Madhesi Voice

United We Celebrate

People Celebrating faguwa (Holi), with the fun of music, quite popular among Terai people. Holi is celebrated each year on the eve of falgun purnima Faguwa (Holi) Celebration

Past Posts


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

%d bloggers like this: